Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Members

New system design help - will this work?

Hello all, I'm new to AP and new to this board. I'm hoping to get and share knowledge and get a sustainable year round AP setup going.

I'd like to go over my intended design and see if there are any notable flaws, as well as get some more solid numbers from ppl with more experience. I don't want roting plants and dead fishies on my conscience!

I live in Rochester, New York (US) and so I have some cold climate concerns to contend with. Average summer temp is in the low nineties, and avg winter temp is in the low teens. (we call Rochester the angry lady, in one year it can fluctuate from 110 to -15 generally tho temps stay fairly consistent in a monthly average).

So I got a 220 gallon water rated poly tank from National Tank Outlet:

http://www.ntotank.com/220gaovveta4.html

and a second 75 gallon of the same type for collecting rain water.

In the warehouse where I work (work at a plumbing supply place) they have 32"Wx44"Lx11D" Plastic bins. I'm not sure the manufacturer, but they look solid polycarb. They've only been used to store loose plumbing doodads and no chemicals that we are aware of, but I was hoping with a good thorough diluted bleach, then vinegar and water wash they should be ok to use as grow beds. (planning to purchase 10)

For pumps I got 2 pond pumps from Pondmaster, a 500 gal series and a 200 gallon series, as well as a UV filter. I checked the pumps for anticipated water lift and the 500 is good to 10ft for a 250 gal load. The smaller pump is rated to 2ft at 200gal. I will use gravity with a floater valve to keep the level consistent in the fish tank. The idea being after collecting rainwater in the smaller tank above I can run it through the UV filter to make the water inert and spill into the main tank.