Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What is this??

Members

What is this??

Hi!, how's things goin with everyone and their aquaponic endeavours?
    I'm new to the aquaponics and wanted to ask a question.

When i look at most fish tanks i see a vetical PVC pipe about 5" in diameter at the center of the tank and protruding just about a few inches above the water.

Can someone tell me what this is and what purpose it serves?

Thank you,
    Davi!

Re: What is this??

Welcome to the show....pull up an easy chair, relax and stay awhile. New voices are always a welcome addition to our family..! Whatever questions you have on you mind, this is the place to get the answers and one of our members will answer your question shortly. Enjoy.
    JCO
    Irish eyes are always smiling but
    • "In the eyes of the world, you are only as good as your last success"
    so never forget
    • "MAN IS ONLY LIMITED BY HIS IMAGINATION"

Greetings, welcome, and enjoy your stay!

Most likely you are seeing what is called a Bell Siphon. It is a basic device that leverages physics to facilitate the automation of flooding and draining your grow bed. There are many designs and implementations, some simple and some complex. The basic idea is that it does not activate until it reaches a specified height. Once it does, it creates a siphon and drains out the water down to another specified height. From there, the device is designed to break the siphon so as to allow the bed to fill back up. Flood and drain systems have a serious advantage over other systems when it comes to oxygenation. Even at 8 PPM (parts per million) dissolved oxygen, you can't beat sitting in air, which as you know is 21% oxygen or 21,000 PPM oxygen; that is great for the bacteria and plant roots!

I randomly selected a video on it; check it out and look around:

Members

Thnx JCO and urbanfarmer, checkin out that Bell Siphon as we speak!

Members