Members

how to calculate the amount of feed to give tilapia?

hi, i have a couple of large ponds in which i have tilapia. i have read that for optimal growth, tilapia need to eat 2-3% of their body weight in a day. my fish have been sorted according to body weight, so thats easy, but the thing is i dont know how many fish i have and i cant even begin to guess because im still relatively new to all of this.
    so is there another way to calculate how much pellet to feed my fish?
    thank you!

Re: how to calculate the amount of feed to give tilapia?

Need more data..how big is the pond (gallons), how deep is the pond, how many fish did you initially put in the pond, how big were they then and any other particulars you can come up with
    JCO
    Irish eyes are always smiling but
    • "In the eyes of the world, you are only as good as your last success"
    so never forget
    • "MAN IS ONLY LIMITED BY HIS IMAGINATION"

Members

well im afraid its a big mess. i initially put about a hundred kilos of mixed sizes of fish. but that was a year ago. i have been selling the large ones and their babies have already grown. the other day i drained the ponds and took the lot of them for sorting.
    they are now separated by size into 4 ponds of 300 meters square that are about 0.7 meters deep. each pond has differing number of fish.
    the ponds are not aquaphonics ponds. they have a continuous inlet supplied by canal water, and the run off supplies a rice field. the water flows at a rate thats enough to fill the ponds ever 24 hours, but i can change the flow to pretty much whatever i want.
    i am situated near the equator so its year round warm weather.