Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Members

Blue Tilapia Breeding help please!

Hello all!

First post, but I've been reviewing as a guest and registered user for awhile now and appreciate the wide array of information available! I'm fairly new to tilapia and ap in general.. bred many different kinds of fish in the "pet" market, but besides seeing "accidental" breeding of cichlids, i'm a newbie!

Background... 2 55gal lined drums with 30 gal? tupperware gb's with bell siphons... one fully planted w/ pea gravel, other "open" using a few rubber tree plants and misc seedlings to help with nit. removal... i've setup a 20 gal tank for breeding... yes, very small, but i'm doing what i can with what i have as we all know, this isn't a cheap "hobby" to dive head first into... tonight while feeding my breeders.. (random fish not conventally sexed or "breeders" bought - figured by observation i could sex them to see who is building beds(males), and who's getting pestered by those building beds (females)... and one of my smaller "test" breeders, dumped what i believe are eggs... off white roundish and about the size of a onion seed.... which almost immediately -dispite her? attempt at guarding them- were devoured by the others in the tank.... i have some shale and misc aqua decor from tanks of past that i hoped would provide structure, sanctuary, and protection - i guess aren't doing the job....

few questions:
    1. were these eggs as I'm assuming?
    2. besides buying ceramic pots or (more!) pvc piping - any "household" items you've had success with providing bedding cave... and protection? i thought about the infamous "red solo cups" weighted... but would prefer to leave as much man made materials out as possible..