Bell Siphon works but won't "fire"

I'm new to all this, kind of a learn as I go. Maybe not the best way of doing it...that being said. I have a GB that is 3.5 ft. x 10 ft. @ 14 inches. I have tried lot of different bell siphon designs. 1st one was a 4" Media blocker, 2" bell, 1" stand pipe with a 3/4" reducer at the bottom of the stand pipe. The 2nd one was a 6", 3" bell, 1 1/2" stand with a 3/4" reducer. Here is where I think I went wrong, All this connected to a 1" drain pipe, I used a 90 with a 20" long PVA then another 90 (this make a long pee trap). At that point I used a 90 to head to my Fish Tank with about 5 ft. of PVA at a slight downward angle. My G.B. is made out of block with 2" of cement on the bottom of it covered with a pond liner. All buried in the ground, my 1,280 gal Fish Tank is made the same way & is 7' x 7' @ 42" deep. The bottom water level of the G.B. is about 10" above the high water level of my tank.

Nice to find you guys, my girlfriend told me about you months age. I should have taken the time to do more research though this site. Would of, could of, save me a lot of time!

Members

Re: Bell Siphon works but won't "fire"

Welcome rodney.

I'm not too fond of bell siphons because in my experience they require periodic adjustments/tinkering. I've switched over to continual sub-surface flow; it is easy enough to modify a F&D bed to become a continuous flow bed. If you prefer to go with bell siphons, read up on affnan's work, who is considered by many to be the authority on these devices,
    http://www.affnanaquaponics.com/2010/02 ... _9459.html .

There are also many other posts on this site regarding bell siphons, and Oliver has quite a bit of experience/expertise with these devices.

Um, yeah, Rodney.... I'm going to need you to check this out.
    Need Help With Siphon Level
    Less irritating avatar since 02/27/14.