Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

NOW YOU'VE GOT DUCKWEED...!

OK, OK..!

You know I work nights and sleep days (Vampire by profession) but you've kept on 'til you got me out in the sunlight with a camera.

First off is what I call the pond. It's where my breeder KOI reside. It's 22' long X 10' wide. The deep end is 5' under the black rubbermaid tubs up to 3 1/2' at this end next to the swimming pool. Yes, I know it isn't clear and that's the way I want it. Here in Fl. we have the Great Blue Heron (bitch) and Osprey (double bitch). Both are protected by law and they know it. There is also 80% shade cloth above the pond and deck. The light you are seeing is afternoon sunlight from the SW.

THE THREE PVC TUBES YOU SEE AT THE VERY BACK ARE SIPHONS LEADING TO THE SUMP. THE WATER IS THEN PUMPED UP TO THE BIO-FILTERS AND THEN GRAVITY FED TO THE GROW BED AND THEN BACK TO THE POND

THE PVC SQUARE IS FOR FEEDING PURPOSES.

Next comes my experimental continuous flow grow bed (slash) Ryukin breeder Goldfish tank

The grow bed is 16' long X 4' wide X 12" deep with a standing overflow PVC that flows the water back into the Pond which can be see in the second photo on the right bottom elbowed over the edge.

In the first photo you can see the PVC going from the bio-filters (rubbermaids on shelf) to the far end of the grow bed.

The water is 10" deep and the black plastic pots are sitting on concrete block and a stepping stone so only about the bottom 1" of the pot is submersed in water. It's the pot in a saucer of water theory experiment. It was my mother's (she's 93) suggestion and it's worked great.

The goldfish have body sizes ranging from tennis ball to slightly larger and there are 20 of them and they are truly little pigs even with all the scuds and algae they can eat, they still run like a herd of cattle to the end of the grow bed to be fed each morning.

THE GREEN STYROFOAM RING YOU SEE SURROUNDS THE OVERFLOW STAND PIPE TO KEEP THE DUCKWEED FROM GOING INTO THE POND