Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Members Roger L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Louisville, KY USA
    Posts
    384

    Using Maxicrop with iron

    I have seen this product recommended by several people here on the forum, so I ordered some to help my struggling plants. There are no instructions as to how to use it in a system. Do you who have used this just add it to the water or mix a gallon up and spray it on the plants? If added to the water what strength should I add?
    At what point did our government cease to be of the people, by the people, and for the people?

  2. #2
    Moderator davidstcldfl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Saint Cloud FL USA
    Posts
    2,029

    Re: Using Maxicrop with iron

    Hi Roger, I have seen recomendations 'as high as'...1 quart per 250 gals of water....in a new system.

    I don't remember how much I gave my system when I 1st started it. I think I did the guy thing, and poured in some and said...that looks about right...
    I guess it was a cup or so and I had about a 1,000 gals. I did dose it once a week like that, for about a month or so.
    It will make the water dark. But that will lighten up in a few days.


    I use it as a spray too. About a 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon per gallon....and about the same amount of molasses.
    "Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn't pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same." - President Ronald Reagan

  3. #3
    Members Roger L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Louisville, KY USA
    Posts
    384

    Re: Using Maxicrop with iron

    Thanks David. The color was one of the reasons I thought I would ask first. I would like to see my fish in the tank, LOL.
    At what point did our government cease to be of the people, by the people, and for the people?

  4. #4
    Members
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Fairport Harbor, Ohio
    Posts
    1,073

    Re: Using Maxicrop with iron

    in my 110 gallon ft/gb setup i used about 1 cap ful every 4 to six weeks

  5. #5
    Moderator davidstcldfl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Saint Cloud FL USA
    Posts
    2,029

    Re: Using Maxicrop with iron

    Your welcome Roger.
    Not sure if you have heard ?...Even without maxi-crop, a mature system's water isn't 'clear' like an aquarium. It'll be stained, like a lite tea color.
    "Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn't pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same." - President Ronald Reagan

  6. #6
    Members Roger L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Louisville, KY USA
    Posts
    384

    Re: Using Maxicrop with iron

    Thanks Keith. David I understand there would be a tint, I just didn't want it where I couldn't see front to back.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	106 
Size:	239.5 KB 
ID:	3869  
    Attached Images Attached Images
    At what point did our government cease to be of the people, by the people, and for the people?

  7. #7
    Moderator JCO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orange Park, Florida
    Posts
    1,830

    Re: Using Maxicrop with iron

    So how did the Maxicrop work out...to dark or just right?
    JCO
    Irish eyes are always smiling but
    • "In the eyes of the world, you are only as good as your last success"
    so never forget
    • "MAN IS ONLY LIMITED BY HIS IMAGINATION"

  8. #8
    Members Roger L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Louisville, KY USA
    Posts
    384

    Re: Using Maxicrop with iron

    Actually it clears out pretty fast for as cloudy as it gets when treated. Still having some plants that just seem to stall out or not start at all. Maybe back to being patient for the system to fully cycle.
    At what point did our government cease to be of the people, by the people, and for the people?

  9. #9
    Moderator JCO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orange Park, Florida
    Posts
    1,830

    Re: Using Maxicrop with iron

    I know why I'm up this time of night...I just got back off a run for the USPS haulin' mail, but what are you doing up?

    I had the same experience as you with Maxicrop...wasn't really satisfied.
    JCO
    Irish eyes are always smiling but
    • "In the eyes of the world, you are only as good as your last success"
    so never forget
    • "MAN IS ONLY LIMITED BY HIS IMAGINATION"

  10. #10
    Members Roger L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Louisville, KY USA
    Posts
    384

    Re: Using Maxicrop with iron

    I sometimes cannot find a comfortable position for my back, which is why I am disabled, so my body won't relax and allow me to sleep. Generally after a couple of nights up and down I'm generally worn out enough to get a good nights sleep. I've got some sleeping pills but they make me a zombie for 2 days.
    At what point did our government cease to be of the people, by the people, and for the people?

Similar Threads

  1. Iron level is way low!
    By Apollo in forum Aquaponics Knowhow
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-09-2015, 09:42 PM
  2. To much MaxiCrop/Molasses or Disease?
    By FloridaChris in forum SUMP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-16-2013, 06:54 PM
  3. Maxicrop Plus Iron dosing rate?
    By bsfman in forum Want To Know HOW TO..?
    Replies: 57
    Last Post: 03-22-2013, 02:58 PM
  4. Do mag drive pumps, remove iron from the water...?
    By davidstcldfl in forum Water Pumps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-18-2012, 12:44 PM
  5. HAPPY BIRTHDAY IRON FISH..!
    By JCO in forum SUMP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 07:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •