Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Members

How Safe To Eat The Fish

How safe really is it to eat your home grown fish? I know lots of you do it, but--My understanding is that if you buy farmed fish there could be lots of problems, because temperatures have to be just right, bacteria, and a whole host of problems could come up. Thing is, growing your own, you do know where it came from, but do you know for certain how healthy the fish are, or free from bacteria, or other problems? How do you know it? How can you be certain there are no parasites? I eat Alaskan cold-water salmon, which I think is about as safe as it gets. The ocean being a larger filter than your home system. I would love to eat aquaponic fish but I have big questions about it. Can anyone set me straight please?

Members

Re: How Safe To Eat The Fish

i've been raising fish for a few years now.. getting ready for a big harvest soon..
    i have had one harvest to eat, and everything was great - i prepared yellow perch 3 ways, backed, smoked and fried, and every bite was excellent..
    regarding parasites, i donated 6 fish to a gentleman that is writing a book, he dissected the fish and found no parasites whatsoever..i'm confident of the safety of my system

Pacific salmon contaminated by industrial pollutants in the ocean are carrying the chemicals to Alaska's lakes, where they may affect people and wildlife, according to a new study published in the Sept. 18 issue of Nature.
    I know that there isn't much mercury or pcb's in the water that goes into our fish tanks, because the city has to test for them.
    It's all about the fish, dude.

Quote Originally Posted by aquahealth