Members

How much $ should I spend in my new Project!

Hello guys I'm new into Aquaponics and I'm thinking into doing and Home small aquarium Im not sure exactly what I want to buy since I am new in this, but I would like to know around how much money Im going to have to spend in this? I read some stuff about the financial aspect of aquaponics [...] but I would like to know some of your personal opinion thanks
    edited by admin...no hyperlinks to other websites in signature allowed

Re: How much $ should I spend in my new Project!

Quote Originally Posted by Andrea
    Hello guys I'm new into Aquaponics and I'm thinking into doing and Home small aquarium Im not sure exactly what I want to buy since I am new in this, but I would like to know around how much money Im going to have to spend in this? I read some stuff about the financial aspect of aquaponics edited by admin...no hyperlinks to other websites allowed but I would like to know some of your personal opinion thanks
    Welcome to the forum!

Your question is impossible to answer as posed, Andrea. Any answer would depend on how big, how fancy and how far you want to go with the hobby and how much you are able to build, borrow or scrounge versus what you have to buy.

Members

i've been building my ap system for 3 years.. start looking for IBC totes, or blue barrels for growbeds/fishtanks.. used stuff can save some money..but keep in mind, lots of small growbeds means more plumbing=more money on PVC pipe..
    i wouldn't skimp on the water pump or air pumps

I have around $1500 - $2000 invested in my @ 800 gallon ap system. I figure, with all the organic raised food, tilapia and veggies, I should have returned my money within two growing years. You can see some of my design and setup here @ Lordshandyman Aquaponics System v2. or view my post here @ Help, I caught the aquaponics bug...

As for your question about how much to spend, your wallet is the limit...