Members

Greetings from Western Washington State

Hello,
    I live in the Seattle area of Washington state. I'm pretty new to the whole aquaponics scene. I have a few questions about the set up. Basically, I want to build platforms to hold my grow beds. I am still at the beginning and don't have much set up at this point. Anyway, my current plan is to have the stock tank with yellow perch, a sump, and five grow beds. So I want to put my growbeds on a platform about 30" high. I am putting the platforms off my deck in an L shape. So the platform will be held up off the dirt by pier blocks. I think I will put a pier block on each corner and one in the middle of each span. Or would that be total overkill? I'm thinking my grow beds will weigh in at just over 2000 lbs all together.
    My second question is: do you think it is better to plumb the grow beds in an assembly (linked all together with one in and one siphon at the end), or separate, with each one having an in and siphon?
    Anyway, any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Members

Re: Greetings from Western Washington State

welcome!!
    http://www.diyaquaponics.com/forum/s...nder vipar LED
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^My System^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Hi ehawkins, welcome to the forum....

In regards to your pier blocks....I'd go with 'overkill'. If something were to happen...well that would be a mess...

I saw a guy tie 4 of the mixing tubs for concrete, together with one extrenal bell siphon. He had a pretty large fish tank...so the water level didn't go up and down much.
    Not sure how big your beds will be...? You have to think about how much water the beds will be using from the sump/fish tank while they fill up.
    "Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn't pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same." - President Ronald Reagan

Members