Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Members

Question about Greenhouses.

Hello I'm new to AP, but I have been planning to have my own setup for a little while now. I've purchased most of what I need to setup my AP system. I have a 37 gallon FT, a Lifetech AP4500 water pump (only cost 20$), and I am planning on making my GB's in the same fashion as Francois (with liner):
    my pilot project

I wanted to know if anyone had experience on DIY greenhouses? I live in Texas, but it still gets down into the low 30's F and I'm worried about my plants/fish getting too cold. I wasn't wanting to build a necessarily extravagant greenhouse but I wanted one large enough for me to have my GB, FT, and for me to fit inside. I also wouldn't mind having a little extra room for future add ons.

I have someone that will be helping me build the greenhouse that has extensive knowledge in building houses, but I just wanted to see if anyone here had any input on what to have or how to make the greenhouse.

Also going to starting with goldfish/cabbage (will be switching to Tilapia as soon as the system stabilizes)

Thanks.

Members

Re: Question about Greenhouses.

you might want to consider a native fish, tilapia will die when the water temps get into the mid 50's or so..or provide lots of heat

ButtonLife,

We went the greenhouse route in the beginning and discovered that heating and cooling it was, and still is, cost intensive.

We live in a dry climate that reaches up to 105 (95 avg high) in the summer and 25 (30-35 avg low) in the winter.

We have just completed a grow room of the same size (220 sq ft) as the greenhouse. It has a much smaller swamp cooler and we heat the fish tanks (320 & 120 gallon) and the room with a 40 gallon natural gas water heater via a circulation pump and thermostat.

We are hoping that our utility bill will indicate a much better energy profile from this point forward.