PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Afghanistan

Clint_Thomas
05-25-2011, 06:46 AM
I am currently working in Afghanistan, I have set up an IBC/tote system with a lot of recycled parts and local river bed gravel. This is my first attempt at aquaponics. I am still trying to figure out how to aquire some fish. No luck yet. I hope to get a little experience with this before I go home for good and set up in Missouri.

Thanks
Clint

urbanfarmer
05-25-2011, 08:33 AM
Greetings Earthling, and welcome! :mrgreen:

Clint_Thomas
05-25-2011, 09:07 AM
http://i596.photobucket.com/albums/tt50 ... G_0656.jpg (http://i596.photobucket.com/albums/tt50/Clint_Thomas/IMG_0656.jpg)
http://i596.photobucket.com/albums/tt50 ... G_0657.jpg (http://i596.photobucket.com/albums/tt50/Clint_Thomas/IMG_0657.jpg)

Jose helped to set up the bell siphon and get the water flow adjusted from our overly large pump. Transplanted a dying squash plant from our hesco garden. It might recover. We have no fish but are trying to see if the locals can bring us something that will work. We are in Nangarhar province in north eastern Afghanistan.

keith_r
05-25-2011, 10:07 AM
you can start your system cycling by adding humonia.. have a beer, wait.. have another.. when nature calls...
you won't get any ammonia readings for several days, and you'll need to add more pee every couple days unless you age the pee first (so that it is converted to ammonia) and then patience as you wait for the rest of the nitrification cycle to do it's job
do you have a test kit? you want to test for ammonia, nitrates, nitrites and ph.. other tests are out there (like DO, salinity etc, but this will be enough to run your system safely.. i use an api master test kit

Clint_Thomas
05-25-2011, 12:21 PM