PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Incline Village, NV

eskowronski
05-14-2011, 10:32 AM
All,

Since I am a biologist and long time aquarist, I wanted to give this a try as a fun project with the kids.

Living near Lake Tahoe, we have a SHORT grow period (Jun to Nov at best...expecting 3-6" snow tonight :o ). Looking for some suggestions...

- What kind of fish, and where to source them locally (Tilapia NOT ALLOWED in NV)
- Feed
- Comments on proposed setup, which follows

• 100 G poly water tank (fish)

• Three 3’ X 2’ X 8” grow tanks

• Grow volume = 3 X 3 X 2 X (6/12) = 9 ft3, or 9 X 7.5 = 67.5 gallons. With 6” water level with hydroton (half volume displacement), this is about 30-35 GPH at 3’ header

• Pump requirements = 4 times grow bed volume/hr + 20% recirculation @ 3’ header, 4 X 35 X 120% = 168 GPH

• Airpump and stone with 7.5GPH @ 100 gallon tank = 750 GHP

Planning on having a ball valve to divert extra pump capacity back into the fish tank for circulation, a three-way manifold for splitting wanter flow into the three tanks, gravity feed back to fish tank, and home-made bell syphons to flood-and-drain.

Excited to get started...please let me know what you think.

E

urbanfarmer
05-14-2011, 11:14 AM
Greetings Earthling, and welcome! :mrgreen:

JCO
05-14-2011, 07:18 PM
Welcome to the show....pull up an easy chair, relax and stay awhile. New voices are always a welcome addition to our family..! Whatever questions you have on you mind, this is the place to get the answers so pick a topic of your interest and start your own thread and Enjoy. Please go to your profile and put in the city and state where you live, there may be members close by. :mrgreen:

rfeiller
05-14-2011, 09:42 PM
welcome to the forum,