PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Central Virginia

mevosper
02-23-2011, 09:12 AM
Hello All :)
As with a few other posts I've seen in here, i'm a total noob at Aquaponics.

My wife and I are looking to setup a 100 gallon fish tank (ok, it's a water trough from a local farm supply store) with plastic cement mixer tubs as grow beds.

We just found a place locally that sells hydroton (thank goodness, shipping the stuff is expensive :roll:), but pea gravel for the grow media was something we had thought of also.

We will be raising the fish for consumption ;) but have not decided on a breed (yellow perch or tilapia :?).
My only concern at the moment is the solid fish waste that enters the growing beds. I hear cleaning the growing media is a laborious task, but if not cleaned it could lead to dangerously high ammonia levels. What are others doing regarding this?

Oh, great website and resource center.

keith_r
02-23-2011, 09:23 AM
add some compost worms to your growbeds (red wigglers) and you won't have any problems..
my growbeds are about 1/2 river gravel and 1/2 hydroton

urbanfarmer
02-23-2011, 11:11 AM
Hello and welcome! :mrgreen:

JCO
02-23-2011, 11:35 AM
Welcome to the show....pull up an easy chair, relax and stay awhile. New voices are always a welcome addition to our family..! Whatever questions you have on you mind, this is the place to get the answers so pick a topic of your interest and start your own thread and Enjoy.

To answer your question about solids in the grow bed:-