PDA

View Full Version : Hello from New Jersey

cedarswamp
02-23-2011, 06:38 AM
I'm a total AP noob, was researching hydproponics to set up a small basement system for growing lettuce, and stumbled into the concept of AP.I was begining to get frustrated with the lack of easy to understand information available on the net about AP when I found your site and finally found the sort of information I was looking for.Thankyou.

My current plan is to use a 55 gallon aquarium I have for the tank, going through an external DIY bio filter feeding a DIY ebb and flow. I plan to run CF through the filter back to the tank, and controling the ebb and flow cycles with a solinoid off of that line. Makes sense to me in theory anyway.

I'm a plumber by trade and have been an avid soil gardener and tropical fish hobbyist most of my life so I probably know enough to get me in trouble with this project. LOL

Thanks again for the great site.

Gary

keith_r
02-23-2011, 07:00 AM
welcome to the madness gary
i have 3 55 gal tanks on my basement floor with one pair of growbeds, we're still frozen outside, but my lettuce, carrots and green onions are taking off, just using t8 shop lights (3 pairs)
good luck and ask lots of questions,, we like pic's too

JCO
02-23-2011, 08:46 AM
Welcome to the show....pull up an easy chair, relax and stay awhile. New voices are always a welcome addition to our family..! Whatever questions you have on you mind, this is the place to get the answers so pick a topic of your interest and start your own thread and Enjoy.

Please go back to your profile and put in the city where you live. There may be members close by.:mrgreen:

urbanfarmer
02-23-2011, 09:02 AM
Greetings Earthling, and welcome to the addiction! :mrgreen:

rfeiller
02-23-2011, 12:28 PM
Welcome to the forum.

cedarswamp
02-23-2011, 03:15 PM
Thanks for the welcome folks.

Keith, I'll try to photo document my build as I go along, I'm still in the research/planning stage.