PDA

View Full Version : New setup design, feedback?

HillSider
02-01-2011, 05:12 PM
I'd like to get an system set up in the next few months. My house has a small area where I can convert an existing planter bed into a grow bed area, and utilize some extra space in my pool equipment area (nice access to power and water) for the fish tank and sump. It will take some tricky plumbing but I think it is possible.

The system will consists of a 50-100 gal fish tank (size tbd), a sump (size tbd), strawberry towers, and a small grow bed (10-14" deep).

I'd like to raise talapia, strawberries, lettuce, cilantro, carrots, etc.

Would this system make an effective aquaponics set up? What can I do better that will improve my system?

I have 10 years of saltwater reef tank experience, so I'm leaning on this experience in designing an aquaponic system.

As part of the sump I have planned a bio balls area, which is similar to a wet dry salt tank filter. Since my grow bed area is somewhat limited I was hoping to use the bio balls area to hold additional beneficial bacteria to help balance the system. Does this work in the practice of aquaponics?

Check out the plan and let me know what you think. Ideally I'd like this to be an aquaponics learning experiment, and eventually take my learnings to a 1/4 acre south facing hillside that I have access too.

Thanks in advance with the project advise.

General system plan
[attachment=1:d83hfyzy]aq set up.JPG[/attachment:d83hfyzy]

Location and equipment placement
[attachment=0:d83hfyzy]aq location.JPG[/attachment:d83hfyzy]

JCO
02-01-2011, 06:52 PM
If possible, the sump (that's where solids are collected) should be between the F/T and the bio-filter (you could eliminate the sump and use filtering material in the bio-filter to collect the solids) and then the water is pumped to the grow beds and then back to the fish.