PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Southern California

Longshot
12-03-2010, 03:27 PM
Hi everybody,
I'm currently planning/designing a small aquaponics system in my backyard. I live in Long Beach, California, which has a pretty mild coastal climate (no frost, little rain, winter temps in the 40s-60s, summer in the 60s-80s). I've already gleaned tons of quality info from this forum, so I figured I'd join up and bounce some ideas off everybody. Please weigh in! I have very little experience in aquaculture and hydroponics, so I can use whatever tips you've got.
I've got a 12x12 concrete slab in the corner of my yard that I'd like to set my system up on. Here's what I'm thinking thus far:
2 GBs, 1 FT, no sump
Ebb and flow method to flood GBs, gravity flow back to FT
Based on what I've read, tilapia seems like a good choice for an edible fish
In addition to leafy greens and herbs, I'd like to try to grow tomatoes to see how they do in AP versus dirt gardens

I haven't fully pored through the existing posts in this forum, so I won't ask any specific questions just yet. Just thought I'd throw this out there. I'd especially like to hear from other folks in the Southern California area.

Thanks!
Danny

badflash
12-03-2010, 04:04 PM
You are on the right track. O. mossambicus is legal, most others are not. The regulators are liars or idiots, or both, so make them show you chapter and verse of any regulations.

Mossies don't get big enough for good fillets, but they are fine headed, gutted and scaled. Pick the meat off the bone at the plate. Yummy.

Longshot
12-03-2010, 04:30 PM
I read in a few spots that blue tilapia are particularly well suited for AP- any idea on the legal status of these guys? I also read something about how legality depends on whether the fish are kept in a "closed system" or an "open system". I assume an AP system would be considered "closed" (isn't that the whole point?). I would like something that gets big enough to fillet...

JCO
12-03-2010, 04:56 PM