PDA

View Full Version : What is this??

Davi
11-11-2010, 06:00 PM
Hi!, how's things goin with everyone and their aquaponic endeavours?
I'm new to the aquaponics and wanted to ask a question.

When i look at most fish tanks i see a vetical PVC pipe about 5" in diameter at the center of the tank and protruding just about a few inches above the water.

Can someone tell me what this is and what purpose it serves?

Thank you,
Davi!

JCO
11-11-2010, 06:53 PM
Welcome to the show....pull up an easy chair, relax and stay awhile. New voices are always a welcome addition to our family..! Whatever questions you have on you mind, this is the place to get the answers and one of our members will answer your question shortly. Enjoy. :mrgreen:

urbanfarmer
11-11-2010, 10:28 PM
Greetings, welcome, and enjoy your stay!

Most likely you are seeing what is called a Bell Siphon. It is a basic device that leverages physics to facilitate the automation of flooding and draining your grow bed. There are many designs and implementations, some simple and some complex. The basic idea is that it does not activate until it reaches a specified height. Once it does, it creates a siphon and drains out the water down to another specified height. From there, the device is designed to break the siphon so as to allow the bed to fill back up. Flood and drain systems have a serious advantage over other systems when it comes to oxygenation. Even at 8 PPM (parts per million) dissolved oxygen, you can't beat sitting in air, which as you know is 21% oxygen or 21,000 PPM oxygen; that is great for the bacteria and plant roots!

I randomly selected a video on it; check it out and look around:

SBf2cg8f3BQ

Davi
11-12-2010, 08:53 PM
Thnx JCO and urbanfarmer, checkin out that Bell Siphon as we speak!

keith_r
11-12-2010, 08:59 PM
the one in the growbed is usually the siphon, if it's in the fishtank, it's probably a solids lift overflow

urbanfarmer
11-12-2010, 09:11 PM
LOL he DID say fish tank!!! :lol:

Davi