PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

lfolnsbe
10-27-2010, 05:47 PM
I'm brand new to this and not even started. I would like to know what fish are good for the Atlanta area: tilapia, perch, shrimp, catfish, koi, etc. What can be grown together? What plants are good for this area? I have a 1/2 acre to dedicate to this eventually. I want to start small, I have access to a 2000 gal pool that I could set up (Walmart type, plastic sides with PVC framing.) I also have access to a quonset type greenhouse to set up over the fish and plants (is this a good idea?) Is there a group that meets in Atlanta? Is there a lot of odor to this that would upset neighbors? I know this is a lot of questions, but I have plenty more. :roll:

davidstcldfl
10-27-2010, 06:39 PM
Hi lfolnsbe, welcome to the forum.... :D

It gets a little cool in Atlanta, so yes, the greenhouse would be nice.

Tilapia like warm water....you might be better to think about cats or maybe perch (not sure if your water would get too warm in the summer for perch ?)
Some folks raise prawns or crawdads in addition to the fish. The crawdads are escape artists.

You'll want to research the regulations for your state/area on what you can and can't raise.

Should be 'very little' smell, 'if' you have the correct ratio of fish and growbeds...which are your filters.

urbanfarmer
10-28-2010, 09:33 AM
You should check into crayfish. There are some that grow to be as big as some lobster, and there is supposedly no discernible taste difference to the average person.

This guy has them cheap. I emailed him, but I have not ventured beyond that. He has breeders for something like $5 each!

Michael Robinson-STICK-FINS FISH FARM 3800 CR-13 South, Elkton, FL. 32033
PH: 904-692-1252; FX: 904-692-4744; Sfins1248@aol.com
Please e-mail for new prices!

urbanfarmer
10-28-2010, 09:37 AM
Here are some threads in this forum: viewforum.php?f=50 (http://diyaquaponics.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=50)