PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Montreal

Chef_Vee
10-19-2010, 10:22 AM
Hi all, I'm new to aquaponics.

I am a chef and professional cooking instructor with no gardening knowledge. I have kept fish many many years ago. My girlfriend is a very knowledgeable organic gardner. Since I love to tinker and reseach, I thought aquaponics might be a great thing for the two of us (mostly me) as well as a great "green project" for my school.

I have set up 4 small systems in different locations.
2 @ home which I check on the weekend (fish are autofed),
1 @ my Girlfriends which I check regularly,
and a brand new 1 in my schools dining room which is identical to the one one set up at the GF to help promote sustainability with the students and the dining room guests. I'm in the process of preparing an info sheet to hand out to the curious.
If one in ten try this at home, well that would be great !

The 2 systems @ home; one (by far the best system I have made) consist of a 29 gallon fish tank (used-donated) powered by 24 - 15 - 3 + 6 (aprox. 12?) feeder goldfish and is about 2 months old. Small levels of Nitrate are being produced. A 2'x3'x7" (40 L) hydroton growbed sits above the aquarium. It floods and drains 5 times/day (pump on 3mins), the pump is on a timer and bell siphon drains the system in about 1.5 mins. Growing in it, from seed, are 6 tomato seedlings (doing ok) and basil (not doing ok) as well as a stevia cutting (not so good either) and a dying rosa bianca eggplant (doing well) from my GF's garden. This system at last test 5-10 ppm Nitrate, 0-0.25 ppm amonia and a Ph of 6.8 -7.2.