PDA

View Full Version : Hello from orlando, Fl

plantmattg
10-17-2010, 06:22 PM
Whats up everyone, just stumbled across this website. I ve been interested in aquaponics and hydroponics for a couple years now, nothing major just a couple hobby systems. I currently have a tower garden but i will be moving to an apartment at the end of the year so i will be building a nice indoor setup using some LEDs(the expensive ones ;) ) Looking forward to talking to some other people from the central florida area.

stucco
10-17-2010, 06:54 PM
Welcome aboard! It’s good to see you here.

WAbedroomponics
10-17-2010, 07:30 PM
do LEDs work to help plants grow? i am new to indoor systems and aquaponics altogether and have never heard about LED lights as grow lights but i am always learning new things :) welcome

urbanfarmer
10-17-2010, 11:38 PM
Welcome!

do LEDs work to help plants grow? i am new to indoor systems and aquaponics altogether and have never heard about LED lights as grow lights but i am always learning new things :) welcome
They do work and eat up less power, but studies showing their effectiveness are really lacking.

I have found that inexpensive fluorescent lighting does a better job, and the total cost of ownership is still cheaper than the LEDs. The most common lights to buy for indoor growing on the cheap are:

40 to 150 Watt equivalent CFL ranging in color from 2700K to 6500K
34 or 40 Watt 4 foot T12 bulb for standard shop light assemblies ($1 a bulb and $10 for a 2-bulb shop light at HD/Lowes)

For instance, I bought 5 shop lights and 10 bulbs ($10 per shop light and $1 per bulb), and I got over 32,000 lumens @ 400 Watts for about $60 (a few bucks for some wood, screws, and chains to hang it up). This will give you strong coverage for a 8-12 square foot area. I grew duckweed, peppers, lettuce, watermelon, cucumber, Chinese okra, and basil indoors this way, and it shocked me how darn well it all grew.