PDA

View Full Version : Hello all!

cvs04
09-01-2010, 11:52 PM
Another newbie on the forum!

I have some knowledge of Hydroponics from a set up I had in 1998 of which I thought would be out of date buy now but it seems there hasn't been too many big advancements in the technology; although equipment prices have come down a little.

9 months ago I took the leap and moved myself to Asia from Manchester, England (native home). Had enough of crooked bankers and politicians ruining the economy and my businesses so here I am. I have chosen to live in Thailand in an area not too far from the border of Laos. It's quite rural up here with a large number of rice farmers, I believe the country is the largest exporter of rice in the world. The North of Thailand is known as Isaan and was mainly forest so at some stage had very fertile land however after years of intensive farming using pesticides and chemical fertilisers the land has suffered. Unbelievably the forest people didn't really understand the importance of the trees not only to give shade in this climate but to give back some nutrients to the soil via the foliage. Organic farming hasn't really taken off here yet like it did in the West so I'm hoping to give it a go in the next few months on a small scale for now though.

dufflight
09-02-2010, 02:51 AM
Welcome.

I started out with a small test system to get the hang of things before building something a little bigger.

JCO
09-02-2010, 05:08 AM
Welcome to the show....pull up an easy chair, relax and stay awhile. New voices are always a welcome addition to our family..! Whatever questions you have on you mind, this is the place to get the answers. .:mrgreen:

jackalope
09-02-2010, 07:20 PM
Welcome cvs04,