PDA

View Full Version : Moving Fingerlings

Celticloud
07-09-2010, 07:43 AM
Hey everyone,

What is the best way to transfer fish from one tank to another? I am a newbie at a critical juncture. I have 100 2 to 3 inch fingerlings in 100 tank and need to move them to my 500 gallon tank. I figured I would put them in 4 five gallon buckets and truck them the 1/4 mile to the big tank.

But I can't catch them. They are quick. I have about 12 inch net. I guess I am going to have to drain 100 gallon tank down until they can't get around my net and buckets. I am afraid this is going to stress them so much they will all go belly up on me.

Am I being overly nervous? Any suggestions are welcome.

Best Wishes,
Tom Cloud

badflash
07-09-2010, 10:51 AM
I split this off of Ernie's topic as it didn't belong there.
To answer the question, 5 gallon buckets are fine for 50 fingerlings for about 15 minutes with no air stone. Longer, probably an hour with one.
Drain the tank. You'll be forever otherwise.

Celticloud
07-12-2010, 09:10 PM
My apologies for the misplaced post :oops:

My move was successful but I may have made a big mistake. I moved them 6 am Sunday morning. Only one fatality moving from 100 gallon tank to 5 gallon buckets to 500 gallon tank.

Every thing looked fine. Fish were schooling, swimming around, exploring their new habitat. I saved the old tank water figuring that it already had nitrates built up, lots of feces to break down so why not top off the new tank with about 45 gallons of old tank water.

By late afternoon yesterday the perfectly clear water of the big tank was looking a bit green and murky, hard to see the bottom. By mid day today the green had turned to brown and I can't see the fish if they are below the top 1/3 of the tank. Lowering my hand into the water I can't distinguish my fingers when water reaches my elbow.