PDA

View Full Version : Hello From Lake Erie(ish?)

Emmett
06-08-2010, 08:52 AM
Morning everyone! My name is Emmett, I'm a total newbie here. I was setting up a hydroponics system and then read a bit on aquaponics and realized it was easier and better so here I am.

I have two systems I want to set up. The first one is smaller and will be where I'm learnding the ins and outs of aquaponics. It is located in a small (7' tall 2' wide 3' deep) moisture resistant cabinet off my kitchen. Due to the space limitations, this will be only a 10 gallon system. Light is from a High Pressure Sodium and Metal Halide lights for 24 hour growth. I'd like to grow things like lettuce and a small tomato plant. We have some crazier things we'd like to try, like a small watermelon vine but that's for later.

It would be neat to put an edible fish in this system but I don't know what size tank a tilapia needs and don't know where I can get any so I'll be using guppies unless someone has a better suggestion. (coy?) I was going to use goldfish because I've heard they work well with aquaponics but then I heard they can be problematic.

The flood and drain system is going to be based on this guy's system (http://www.hydroponicsonline.com) that I'll be putting together. As for the FT, It's a 10 gal aquarium and. . . I don't know yet. The tank will have to pump into the GB and then drain back in. Other than that I'm open to suggestions.