PDA

View Full Version : The Bigger Picture

swamp creek farms
05-13-2010, 08:02 AM
Yes, I am a newbie, with grand ideas.

I live in south Georgia on an old farm which was planted in pine trees about 20 years ago. I have about 175 - 200 acres to play on. Farming is huge in this area. Organic, not so much, but there are a few places an hour from here to sell organic vegetables. I have been reading up on AP systems and want to build a nice size system in a greenhouse. I'm thinking 1000 gallon FT, running it through PVC instead of GB. Any ideas on which way would be the best?

My goal is to have enough plants to rotate and sell about 200 plants per week. Or more if possible. I've been researching through the agriculture department on how to get certified for organic veggies, and grants they have for first time farmers. But I guess the best thing to do is build one and run it for a few years, then try to go big. There is no one around here that I am aware of that has a commercial AP system to take a tour of and ask questions. This is something that I would love to do, and have plenty of space for it.

Any ideas on how to accomplish this pipe dream?

jackalope
05-13-2010, 08:28 AM
First of all, Welcome to the forum :!: