PDA

View Full Version : New to AP - just investigating

chuckt
03-13-2010, 12:15 PM
Hello everyone. I am brand new to this world having stumbled on the article about web4deb's system in a recent NYT article. Seemed pretty interesting. We currently have 1 12x12 flower bed, and 3 4x12 veggie raised beds that we set up when we moved in about 10 years ago. Mostly my wife's work on all these since I work FT in IT in NYC and commute 4 hours a day (live in the Hudson valley of NY about 60 mi north of NYC).

The veggie beds have been hit & miss for us over the years and the yield for the effort hasn't really been there for us. I am now thinking about replacing those 4 beds with a similar system to web4deb's - HF greenhouse & hydro or aquaponics set up. But - like I said - I am totally new to this and just evaluating the possibilities at the moment. Hope to learn a lot reading the posts here and will eventually start asking questions.

A little about me - I am married for 23 years with 4 kids (16 - 22). We are looking for ways to grow more food for our family on our 1 acre (though only about 1/4 is usable - the rest is a wooded steep slope to a stream) to supplement and or significantly cut our fresh veggie costs.

I look forward to getting to know more about AP and some of you here.

Cheers!
ChuckT

wolfracer
03-13-2010, 12:48 PM
Welcome chuck Some pretty cool systems here and lots of info, Definitely check out Stucco system it is pretty cool! Mine ain't bad but needs to be expanded.

davidstcldfl
03-13-2010, 01:09 PM
Hello Chuck, welcome to the forum.

JCO
03-13-2010, 08:10 PM
Well, I see you finally go on board, that's great...Welcome to the show....pull up an easy chair, relax and stay awhile. New voices are always a welcome addition to our family..! Whatever questions you have on you mind, this is the place to get the answers. :mrgreen:

badflash
03-13-2010, 08:37 PM
Sound like you live next door. Give me a PM with your 20.

chuckt
03-13-2010, 09:15 PM