PDA

View Full Version : Hello from India

bri
02-11-2014, 04:13 AM
Hi everybody. I am just beginning to start an aquaponics project here in South India and figured it would be best to introduce myself and my project.

I am planning to start a small aquaponics build here in India using locally sourced materials. The current plan (which is flexible) is a gravity fed system with approximately 1500 liters (400 gal) of water in the fish tank max. I have an action list of things that I need to gather, things that will be potential issues, things that will be issues... Ideally I would love to use coconut husk and make a drip system, but it seems there is much more information out there on gravity systems, and we are looking to get our feet wet with this project.

A big issue is going to be keeping the fish alive considering all of the brownouts here. I have looked at either running the entire system off of a battery backup, or just running an aerator pump off a battery (less power draw). Any suggestions on batteries or pumps to use?

I am also planning on using some of these (http://www.indiamart.com/darshittradingco/water-tanks.html%20) to house my fish, sump, and grow beds. They seem available, hygienic, and UV resistant. Any suggestions?

Anywho, there is much more to go, and I am just really getting started in getting things quoted and material sources identified. I guess Im officially not a lurker anymore...

Brian

Roger L.
02-11-2014, 07:11 AM
Welcome and good luck Brian.

dead_sled
02-11-2014, 07:22 AM
Hi Brian. Welcome. It sounds like to you have a plan that is being put into action. I can't wait to see pics of the progress.