PDA

View Full Version : Hello from KS!

error4o4
11-18-2013, 08:00 PM
Hello all, newbie here. I live in NE KS, grew up on a small farm not far from here. I'm brand new to aquaponics, as well as gardening and raising fish. I'm a project engineer for a commodities company and have always been interested in inefficiency. Several months ago I began reading about efficient methods of growing food, and came across aquaponics and have been very impressed. In early September, I bought a setup from backtotheroots.com to check it out. So far, I've had great luck with the basil and wheat grass, but the lettuce slowed dramatically. The original betta fish is still alive and doing well.

My wife and I are expecting a son in January, our first child, and are shopping for a house. The plan is to have some more room for some food production, probably some combination of aquaponics, traditional gardening, chickens, etc. I'll probably be mostly a lurker, trying to gain all the knowledge I can. I'm really looking forward to reading everything I can get my hands on.

Bob

Aloha Don
11-19-2013, 02:39 PM
Welcome to the addiction and congrats coming your way in January....Let the games begin!!!

JCO
11-20-2013, 01:34 PM
Welcome to the forum...sit back and enjoy the learn experience :mrgreen:

misterguppy
12-13-2013, 09:07 PM
Welcome. I am in Kearney, MO just north of liberty. Would be willing to help if needed with info.

Lordshandyman
12-22-2013, 09:37 PM
Welcome to the addiction...