PDA

View Full Version : Type of fish to use

davidc56
04-22-2013, 04:14 AM
I am just getting started with this. I notice a lot of system are using Tilapla for fish. I have found in Texsit is illegal to import or own Tilapia. My guestion is what type of other fish would be a good choice? Useing a 250 gal tank.

keith_r
04-22-2013, 05:32 AM
overton fish in TX has tilapia that are legal (Mozambique Tilapia)
catfsih are good, bluegill work.. what kind of fish do you like?

davidc56
04-22-2013, 06:53 AM
Thank you I will check that out. As far as what I like I'm not to sure.

Ike016
04-24-2013, 05:43 AM
David,

I will be in Odessa within the month and looking to start a system there. Would love to talk to you and see what is working for you and we can compare notes. I am looking to use a raft system to grow some stuff and did not know about the tilapia issue in Texas. If this is fact then I am thinking catfish is what I will go with.

JCO
04-24-2013, 09:20 PM
For info on fish feasable to use in an Aquaponic system, check out http://www.diyaquaponics.com/aquaponics-aquatic-animals/ :mrgreen:

Ike016
04-24-2013, 11:45 PM
Went ahead and sent an email to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department to see what they require for Tilapia. Will post response.

Ike016
04-25-2013, 02:09 PM
Here is what I got back from Texas Parks and Wildlife:

If it's just for personal use, you can possess Mozambique tilapia
without having to get an Exotic Species Permit.

If you want to raise a different species, or plan to sell fish at any
point, you'll need some permits. See the attached document for details.
You can find a downloadable application form for the Exotic Species
Permit (PWD-1026) on this web page:
http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/publication ... oat/forms/ (http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/publications/fishboat/forms/)

davidc56
04-25-2013, 10:39 PM
Great information, I tried to call TPWL office in San Angelo to talk to there fish biologist but had to leave message.