PDA

View Full Version : New to Tilapia -- Legal Issues

Personoponics
02-04-2013, 09:53 AM
I'm new to aquaponics and everything, but I just read on a website about needing a permit to have tilapia :shock: Is this just for commercial aspects? Do I need to have a permit just to have tilapia in the basement? I'm in Illinois, but I'm wondering what all is the legality of having non-native fish in a tank here. I'm pretty sure that everything is pretty much fine, but I just want to check with all of you on what you know about aquaculture and fish regulations. What have you run into?

davidstcldfl
02-04-2013, 10:03 AM
We have a thread listing the regs for each state...
State Tilapia Regulations (http://www.diyaquaponics.com/forum/showthread.php?636-State-Tilapia-Regulations)

Best to check to see if any thing has changed..?

urbanfarmer
02-04-2013, 10:06 AM
We have a thread listing the regs for each state...

State Tilapia Regulations (http://www.diyaquaponics.com/forum/showthread.php?636-State-Tilapia-Regulations)

Best to check to see if any thing has changed..?

+1 Urban Farmer

Personoponics
02-04-2013, 02:15 PM
Thanks for the link!

And that's only if I want to sell them, right? To keep them just as a hobby, it's okay? Or is it that I need the permit to even have them in my possession?

davidstcldfl
02-04-2013, 02:24 PM
Good questions....But I don't know...?
Every state is different...and the states change their minds... :roll:

FL is odd, we can have blue tilapia in re-circ systems in most of FL. But in the NW Panhandel, they need a permit.
The nw panhandel is probably the coldest part of the state and least likey to survive there..... :roll:

Ca...Ok in S ca, not so in N Ca....again, tilapia most likely can't survive in N Ca because of the cold.... :roll:

Best to check with your state.

Personoponics
02-04-2013, 06:54 PM