PDA

View Full Version : New member that doesn't know anything about aquaponics.

vermiman
02-23-2012, 07:36 PM
I am someone that has just gotten interested in aquaponics. I'd like to know how to go a cheap & easy DIY route. I do raise redworms and BSFL. What type of fish will eat this type of food. I've seen a video where someone uses sink spray hose guides for bulk head fittings. Is that good or bad? What is the best substrate for the growbed? Is it practicle to use a solar battery setup to run the water pump? And is a biofilter needed in a small system? Sorry for so many questions.

alex281
02-23-2012, 09:01 PM
Hi there and welcome!

For an absolute beginner i recommend you read this!
viewforum.php?f=112 (http://diyaquaponics.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=112)

it has loads of explanation and is a great write up.

As for the other questions.

its better to find a fish better suited for your climate. not sure about what eats bsfl or not, im just a goldfish user

i wouldnt use the hose unless i know its food safe. other than that as long as it doesnt leak im sure it would be fine.

the substrate depends on preference. i use gravel as it was cheap and works fine for me.

Solar is an investment that will eventually pay itself off. depends if you want to put the money all at once for it really..as for practicality that depends on your climate.(is it always sunny?)

A biofilter may or may not be needed. it also depends on what type of system you are using.(See guide for info)

There is a link to my system at the bottom of my post. all in all it was cheap and works great. ibc totes are great to use to! how much space are you willing to use?

vermiman
02-23-2012, 09:23 PM