PDA

View Full Version : Want to raise fish high in omega-3 fatty acids

DonnaRae
12-20-2011, 12:25 PM
I am completely new to aquaponics and have lots of beginner questions. I have searched the forums for information on this topic, but didn't find an answer, so I am bringing it to the "Fishy Questions" section.

I want to raise fish that are high in omega-3 fatty acids. I have read that a couple of kinds of perch found in Australia are high in omega-3s, but I don't believe these fish are available in the USA. From what I have gleaned, tilapia and catfish are higher in omega-6 fatty acids, which can actually contribute to poor heart health if they are out of balance with omega-3s. I'd like to find a fish that is high in omega-3s that can be successfully raised in an aquaponics environment.

Thanks in advance for help with this!

Donna in Oklahoma USA where it is a gray, cold day and I would rather be at a sunny beach!

bsfman
12-20-2011, 01:23 PM
From what I have gleaned, tilapia and catfish are higher in omega-6 fatty acids, which can actually contribute to poor heart health if they are out of balance with omega-3s. I'd like to find a fish that is high in omega-3s that can be successfully raised in an aquaponics environment.

Hi DonnaRae, if you do some Googling on the topic, you may find several studies that attribute the higher Omega 6 ratios in farm raised catfish and tilapia to being fed primarily a corn based diet. Even salmon that are farm raised have a higher omega 6 level than wild ones. Evidently the omega 3 levels are the same as wild caught, but the higher omega 6 levels throw the ratio out of kilter. Not surprisingly, even free ranged chicken eggs have a higher omega 3 content than factory farm eggs - perhaps because of the high percentage of corn in the factory farm chicken feed versus the insects and green shoots the free rangers dine on.