PDA

View Full Version : Another possibility

Kim
10-21-2011, 03:03 PM
While I (we) have specific plans for the future setup we'll do, it's in a 'Next year...well, if not then, then DEFINITELY the year after...maybe...' category. Eventually we'll do it, but I've been itching to NOW for the past 6-10 months.

But, while pondering on the ways I could collect animal waste for bsf grubs, I realized I've been stuck in a paradigm concerning this, so focused on the utter necessity of having tilapia fish to even start and have it worthwhile that I've been completely ignoring the fact that we already have a pond. And, not only do we have one, but it is so overloaded with duck mess (has a natural diy filter set up for 2-3 ducks, currently has 5, among other things) that I routinely have to empty out some and refill it with fresh water. The trees I water with it LOVE it though, so it's not a waste, just a pain.

But back to the paradigm shift...what if I set up a system that uses the water from the pond? In addition to the 5 ducks, there are also 4 fish (feeder fish that were better at escaping than ducks were at hunting, now about 6" long) and a turtle living in it (I'm honestly surprised they're still alive, having to breathe that muck). What if I used that water in it's own grow setup? There's a section of wall, 8' tall by about 10' wide, that I could try vertical gardening with. I don't mind going and picking up a few rain gutters from the habitat store. Could attach some plywood to the wall, line it, hang the gutters from it, and grow...well, probably couldn't grow anything exceptionally BIG with it, but I'd be willing to see just what I could do.