PDA

View Full Version : new to Aquaponics

flienlow
08-25-2011, 07:43 PM
Hi all-

Ever since the economic down turn and few natural disasters, it has been on my mind to grow my own food. I mean, how hard can it be? Well, after 3 years of trying, I realize that I am not very good at it at all. In a quest to learn more by scowering youtube. I found aquaponics and have been completely facinated by it ever since.

one big question I have is: Will Aquaponics work in a Seattle climate? from the videos I have watched it appears to work well in Austrailia, and California, but what about cloudy Seattle?

Another question I have is. Where can I learn how to raise trout? -this seems to be the best fish for this enviornment.

Finally: Where can learn how to measure PH levels ect for water quality?

What i have done so far was to go to home depot and buy some 5 gallon buckets and a pump. I am working on making my own test system out of a 18 gallon rope bucket and 3- 5gallon buckets. If nothing else my 4y/o likes playing in the water :)

urbanfarmer
08-25-2011, 08:36 PM
WELCOME!

It will work in any climate.

Buy a pH kit, it comes with instructions.

You Tube or ask forum members about raising the fish.

JCO
08-25-2011, 11:19 PM
Welcome to the show....pull up an easy chair, relax and stay awhile. New voices are always a welcome addition to our family..! Whatever questions you have on you mind, this is the place to get the answers so pick a topic of your interest and start your own thread and Enjoy. :mrgreen:

davidstcldfl
08-26-2011, 03:18 AM
Hi flienlow... :)
Actually, most of us like playing in the water .... :lol:

cedarswamp
08-26-2011, 12:50 PM
Welcome to the forum. :)

rfeiller
08-27-2011, 08:42 AM