PDA

View Full Version : Tank Size?

JaxJags
08-09-2011, 10:54 AM
For those of you who read my intro, I am brand new to this! I would like to raise about 20-30 tilapia and a variety of warm loving veggies (Is it possible to do a tomato species?). I am in a cooler climate for winter months (Connecticut), so I know I will have to bury the tank to help with warmth and am getting an immersible heater. My ultimate questions are:

What size tank do I need for fish?
What size grow bed to make it balanced?
What size pump would be sufficient to pump the water up to the grow bed?

I would ultimately like a build a Constant Ebb and Flow system, having the water pump up to the grow bed and drain back into the fish tank through means of gravity. I am unclear of how to actually set up the pump and pipes as well. Any suggestions would be super appreciated! Please take this novice and mold her into a sufficient Aquaponics operator! :D

Thanks all
~Ashley

keith_r
08-09-2011, 11:41 AM
so, if you want to have 30 tilapia grow out to about 1.5lbs or so, that would be.. umm.. 45lbs..

a "reasonable" rule of thumb is 100gallons of growbed (filtration) you can grow out 25lbs of fish..
so 200 gallons of growbed will be enough filtration.. a 200 gallon fishtank will give you a nice starting ratio of 1:1 (growbed to fishtank), but for better performance, you want 2x more gb then ft (2:1)

for your pump, you want to be able to circulate the volume of your fishtank at least once an hour. it's a good idea to oversize your pump, because you will want to expand, and in the meantime, you can divert a stream of water back into the ft to add aeration and still deliver a good flow to the gb's..