Thread: Turtleponics

Members

Turtleponics

I finally finished building my trough system for my turtle tank. I'm thinking I'll be growing mostly leafy greens, and maybe a strawberry over the side - I have a window about 12" to the right of the tank, and a glass door about 24" to the left... maybe train it to go around the window?? My boys (7 & 4 years old) would love it if I can get them to berry!

I just tied the trough system into the existing filter. I got a great deal on a 150W MH light that I'll be installing over the tank, too - just have to wait for some help mounting it. Here are some pics:

Trough system (no pots, yet - will fill those when I get the light mounted)

Using a Fluval FX5 for filtration - these things have excellent mechanical and biological filtering capacity!
    Jason M.

Members

Re: Turtleponics

Nice, and great lesson for the kids.

Members

Hi. I'm new to aquaponics and I have a question about turtles. I had read that they can carry virus (salmonella?) that might make them unsuitable for food production. Any experienced forum users on this issue, especially with children?

I have two young ones, and a RES turtle, but system not built yet. Not sure if I will use turtle in future system yet.

Thanks.

Members