Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Members

Newbie from N. CA

Hi all! I'm new to the world of aquaponics, although I've been gardening for most of my life, and have a pond with goldfish for the past 5 years. I've got 2 IBC totes out back ready to be cut and washed, I've read copious amounts online, and read Sylvia Bernstein's Aquaponic Gardening. I figure I've done enough reading, now the only way to do it is to jump right in and start something up.
    ~~Lori
    "That which does not kill us makes us stronger."
    Friedrich Nietzsche

Members

Re: Newbie from N. CA

Welcome! I wish you much success and look forward to updates.

I'd recommend reading Oliver's AP 101 threads before jumping in and then posting some of your design ideas/plans for feedback. There are a bunch of helpful folks with a ton of experience that could help you tweak your design and potentially avoid headaches down the road.

I have a low opinion of that book you mention and think that it can lead new folks into trouble.

Welcome....sounds like you already have the AP bug.
    Looking forward to hearing about your ideas and progress..
    What do you have in mind to build?
    Put all excuses aside and remember this: YOU are capable - Zig Ziglar

Members

Thanks for the info! I've copied the 101 series, and will print it out to be read while I kick back under the ceiling fan with the dogs.
    My plan at this time is to do a bell siphon with grow media, using a sump tank in addition to the fish tank. For now, I'm thinking of putting the system on the patio, more because it seems lots easier than putting up a makeshift greenhouse, although not too sure about when winter comes if I can keep it warm enough. I can make a solar heater to put on the patio roof, so am hoping that will be sufficient. I tend to bite off more than what's reasonable, and thinking if I do the aquaponics from the beginning will be more than enough to keep me challenged, not considering a greenhouse too.
    ~~Lori