Members

Noob from Pennsylvania USA

Hello all! My name is Jim and I'll be using the handle JT Green. I am a noob from Pennsylvania USA. I use that term loosely as I am not a noob to gardening or keeping fish but this will be my first attempt at creating/combining the two in a symbiotic relationship. I have several decades of experience in electrical/electronic engineering as well as in the mechanical and construction fields. I fully intend on building and operating relatively large systems indoors and hopefully eventually in greenhouse(s) with the specific purpose of growing as much of my own food as possible.

I am glad to have found this forum through a Google search for DIY Aquaponics.

I hope to be able to make contributions to the community soon but right now I will be reading as much as I possibly can as I begin to design my own system from the materials I have available to me.

Best regards from PA...........Oh yeah....I love these silly emoticons.............

Jim

Re: Noob from Pennsylvania USA

Hi Jim, welcome to the forum...

I'm originally from W PA, Been in FL about 25 years....no snow here... :P
    "Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn't pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same." - President Ronald Reagan

Members

Thanks David.

I had considered Fla and the south in general for that reason, but I wound up working down there in the rail-yards in July a couple of times. Whoa is all I can say! I'll be trying to make it work in the land of part time ice and snow.

I'm in NW PA now but originally from Beaver County.

Nice to make your acquaintance. I look forward to getting my first AP system going here in 2013.

Yeah, the summers can be a bit much here in FL...

I grew up in Mercer County. I remember getting the snow off of Lake Erie....Brrrr.